Fourth of July Flag Cake – Coconut Version

 ******I’m Thinking of Elissa and Red, White, and Blue song; and photos of my Coconut Fourth of July Flag cake are posted below ******

I couldn’t wait to post photos of this delightfully, fun cake that I made! I’ve posted photos below after the I’m Thinking of Elissa ( and Red, White, and Blue ) song; but briefly, let me tell you that I came across this gem of a baker when looking for a cake idea, a couple of summers past. Elissa Bernstein’s 17 and baking  blog is such joyful eye candy, as her passion for baking surely shines through in her photos and within her writing.  She is an amazingly creative baker. Her exquisite, passionate baking artistry and presentation, as well as her creative choice of flavor combinations will make your mouth water; and it’s never a surprise that when viewing her blog, you might find yourself  saying something like, “You know, I never would have thought in a million years, to put  basil, lime, semifreddo and watermelon sorbet  together in a bar; but come to think of it, it’s just the perfect fit!”

Moving on to cake, Elissa’s Bernstein’s Fourth of July Flag cake really impressed me!  When scouring over the recipe and instructions, I said to myself, “What a beautiful, patriotic cake and how did she get the inside to look like the American flag?” Well, step by step cake instructions may be found on her blog, but to view her demonstration of how to make this fun cake, tune into the video recording of  Elissa on the New Day Northwest morning show. Also, on the video, you will get a brief camera shot of Elissa’s father who is known to be the originator of this extraordinary cake idea. “Genius” in my book of cake creators!

Anyway,  it’s  just 1 day away from Fourth of July 2012, and I wrote a song, and wouldn’t you know it … I’ve also got photos of my very own version of  Fourth of July Flag Cake that I am excited to share. My song  entitled I’m Thinking of Elissa is printed below, and after it are my personal photos and recap of my experience with baking my Coconut 4th of July Flag cake, but first … I’m thinking of Elissa …

I’m Thinking of Elissa  ( and Red, White, and Blue )

I’m thinking of Elissa.

Elissa likes to bake.

Elissa likes photography.

Elissa likes her cake.

I’m thinking of Elissa.

‘A tidbit just for you …

Writing is a another thing,

Elissa likes to do.

Now on one scorching, hot July,

I’m wondering what to bake.

I seek and find a recipe for

Independence Cake!

Have you ever seen this cake before?

Amazing! You will see …

A sheer delight, and slice of genius

Creativity!

So, go ahead, and bake it,

Slice it … See what is inside.

See stars and stripes forever,

Deliciously, collide!

I’m thinking of Elissa.

Elissa likes to bake.

Elissa likes photography.

Elissa likes her cake.

I’m thinking of Elissa.

‘A tidbit just for you …

Writing is a another thing,

Elissa likes to do.

What greater way to spend

a fun and patriotic day,

Than to spend it baking cake

So everyone can hear you say,

“This tantalizing, classy, piece of

Red and white and blue,

Is sure to put a smile on every

U.S heart that’s true …

And I’m proud to be an American.

I hope that you are too!

( Happy Fourth! )

           Written by: Linda Ghostwriter             

         *****Photos of my Coconut Fourth of July Flag cake below ******

When I decided to bake this cake, I envisoned it covered in coconut, and so it was. I loved making this cake. Like fireworks waiting to go off, I anticipated the day of celebrated flag and patriotic pride. Cake and country was clearly on my mind, and decked in coconut … Here is how it turned out!

 

My version of Fourth of July Flag Cake - (decked with red, white, and blue coconut ) A side -view!

My version of Fourth of July Flag Cake – (decked with red, white, and blue coconut ) A side -view!

Salute to sweetness! Coconut - infused frosting between layers of red, white, and blue cake! Almost all of the 51 stars fit, but I ran out of room on star #48.

Salute to sweetness! Coconut – infused frosting between layers of red, white, and blue cake! Almost all of the 51 stars fit, but I ran out of room on star #48.

Another inside view!

A slice of independence never tasted so good!

A slice of independence never tasted so good!

More independence!

More independence!

                                                                                                                                  Cake Recap:

The cake was baked on July 3rd and decorated on the 4th. The taste and texture was unbelievably smooth, not dry. I was a bit worried that with the large amount of food coloring used, the cake would taste dry or have an aftertaste, but that was not the case. Just the opposite happened, and I was not at all prepared for the sophisticated taste brought forth from this cake! After taking my first bite, and my husband taking his, I muttered in awe, “This is good cake … (and yes, I actually said that)… I don’t know how it turned out so well, but I did it … and this is actually a fantastic little fancy tasting cake.”

 When making this cake, the anticipation mounts because you can only guess what the inside will look like when you cut it, and that is all you think about as the count down to that monumental 4th of July moment draws near, and that first slice takes place, and you are stunned and can’t seem to get your mouth to close because the blue is where it is supposed to be, and the red stripes are lined up just right (or almost just right), and after your mouth closes, and your eyes come down to size; you sigh a big sigh, and  smile. 

Lessons learned were: 1. Use a non-serrated knife so that the cake cuts clean. When using a serrated knife, the crumbs from the red cake will spread to the white cake, and the same for blue! It was not my original intention to cut the cake using a serrated knife. It just so happened that the serrated knife was closest to the cake when it came time to cut it. The serrated knife was used earlier to slice the colored cake layers. 2. Food coloring tends to fade and bleed on a hot 4th of July day (or night). The blue food coloring used in the cake turned slightly green, and the red coconut; which I colored myself, using food coloring, began to bleed onto the white coconut; making a small portion of  the white coconut, light pink. This was hardly noticeable at first, but with time, it is possible that the color change will get worse. 3. The next time, I will start with a red coconut – filled stripe on the bottom of the cake instead of starting out with a white one. The white stripe on the bottom doesn’t create a border like the red one does. 4. I used cream cheese frosting to pipe on the stars…MISTAKE! Royal icing will form and hold a star shape better than cream cheese frosting, especially on a hot summer day!

Last and final words about the cake! It was challenging, fun and exciting! My idea to decorate the outer portion with colored coconut, went beautifully and just as I planned and envisioned it would go; but the coconut stripes will be much straighter, the next time. To color the coconut, I used the Ziplock bag method where the coconut goes in the bag with a few drops of food coloring. You just shake as much as you need to, in order to coat the coconut. You also use your fingers to squish the coconut through the bag to break up any coconut clumps that may form. 

Special thanks to Elissa for her dedication to baking, blogging, and photography while far from home and busy with school in Boston. Also, special thanks to Elissa’s dad for the inspiring cake idea . I am still anticipating making the frozen Watermelon Basil-Lime bars sometime, too! … Yum!

                                                                                                               Email me at lindaghostwriter@yahoo.com

                                  lindaghostwriter.com/

                                  layersuponlayers.wordpress.com  

                                 www.instantadvice.wordpress.com

                                www.talkoriolesbaseball.wordpress.com

                        I’m on Twitter!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

